Stories & Info

Julie Mattson, 50

Posted: September 22, 2017
  • Share this story:

“I’m proud to say I'm 50 years old. ‘I can kick, I can stretch, and I can kick. I'm FIFTY...’ – Sally O’Malley. Haha, love this! And really, I’m proud of the things I can do. I never want to stop being active or trying new things!”

Member Of: 

Farmgirlfit Cd’A


Buyer, Planner

Tell us about your fitness journey. How did you come to Farmgirlfit?

I've never considered myself much of an athlete, but I've always had large amounts of energy and lead a pretty active lifestyle. While living in Cd’A, I attended spin classes for  years at the Hayden Peak facility. Loved it for the most part, but was 100% cardio; nothing more.  I eventually moved to the Kroc Center to find a greater variety of workout options but found myself spending way too much time without really accomplishing much and I hated working out alone. I was then talked into trying a CrossFit gym and surprisingly enjoyed the workouts. I had no prior weight lifting experience, but quickly realized my skinny little arms were getting stronger. That facility ended up closing and it was highly suggested that I check out Farmgirlfit. I was reluctant and drove past it several times, and finally decided to walk through the front door. The minute I saw the open floor, circled with weights, bars, and a white board showing The Grind, I knew it was going to be a fit.  After the first class, I signed up and have never looked back.

If you could tell your Farmgirlfit story in 100 words or fewer, how would it read?

I feel so fortunate to have found Farmgirlfit. What an amazing gym! The minute you walk through the door you feel the friendly, positive energy. The camaraderie is excellent! I love being responsible for my individual workouts at the same time being with a great group of people doing the same thing. It's encouraging, and motivating. All of the coaches are very knowledgeable and experienced. They provide good instruction and a good mix of strength and cardio pieces. I'm thoroughly impressed with the operation, and hands down been the best gym experience for me.

What has been your greatest fitness/performance accomplishment so far?

My biggest accomplishment this year has been rope climbs, (being my nemesis since third grade), I was finally able to master it. Also participating and finishing the Spartan Sprint in BigFork, Montana was a pretty big deal for me.

What are your next health and fitness goals?

Maintain strength, eat cleaner, drink more water, sleep more and get back to the gym 3+ days a week.

I’m proud…

To say I'm 50 years old. “I can kick, I can stretch, and I can kick. I'm FIFTY...” – Sally O’Malley. Haha, love this! And really, I’m proud of the things I can do. I never want to stop being active or trying new things!

Favorite workout song?

Anything rock n roll, and loud.

Favorite exercise at FGF is? Least favorite?

Favorite: Push-ups. Least Favorite: Turkish Get-ups.

When the Grind is kicking my butt, I’m thinking…

This is the longest minute of my life but I can do anything for a minute.

My favorite thing about Farmgirlfit is:

I really like getting a great workout done in 60 minutes. It's awesome. You get in class, learn the technique, lift something heavy, and get the Grind on. It's truly the best Happy Hour in town!

Do you have a funny Farmgirlfit story, or favorite memory?

Oh, just walking in with my shirt inside out.

How has the rest of your life been influenced/impacted by Farmgirlfit?

I feel so much stronger in everything I do. It's truly life changing. It's helped balance me, reduces stress, helps me sleep better, improves my confidence, overall more positive with life.  Everyone I've met there owns such a great attitude that pays itself forward in every class.

When you're not pumping iron at FGF, what does the rest of your life look like? 

I could mostly could sum it up with Family, Friends and Food. I spend most of my time with Brian who is a complete hunk of love and supportive in every way but takes me out to eat way too much. I also have mom and dad who are in their 80's living in town. I have lunch with them most every day. I also travel to Boise as much as I can to see my son and his family (two little munchkins that I completely adore). I golf every Tuesday, ride mountain and road bikes, kayak and I've been a skier since I could walk (even though I'm more inclined to snow shoe these days). In between, I love to travel, go to concerts, go to parties. Secretly I would like to nest more at home.

Any advice for new members or your fellow farmgirls?

Keep walking through the front door. That's the hardest part. The workout butterflies will lessen over time, and you will like the results. People are there to support you. Don't feel intimidated.

Subscribe to
FGF Stories & Info

Get Your Gear

Get Your Gear